Critical Role 2nd Campaign 3D Animated Fanimation.

*LONG POST*

So for the last week, I have been working on a 3D Animated Fanimation for some snippets of the new campaign. I'm a 3D animation student and I thought it'd be a fun challenge to take some cuts from the new campaign and make an animation to them.

I am going for low poly because its easier to model and rig in a sense. I have modeled 6 out of the 8 characters (Frumkin being the 8th character), and have almost finished rigging Jester. It's going to take a bit until I can completely finish my first animation which is only going to be around 30 seconds in length. But I am hoping that once I have a lot of the assets made I can produce more throughout the coming months.

I will be using the preception neuron motion-capture suit so the movements should be somewhat "realistic" therefore animating shouldn't be too much of a hassle, though it will still be hard. I want to also add nice looking camera shots, depth of field, and motion to make it feel like a truly good animation.

I have never really posted anything within the community so I just wanted to gauge everyone thoughts on this. Whether they would want to see it completed, maybe some fan-favorite moments within the campaign I could refer to for an animation stuff like that.

Here is a link to an unlisted video on my youtube channel with some render test ->

Road Bumps

Cloth - With so much cloth in a fantasy world that one thing that's going to be an issue with simulation but I hope to get over that.

Low poly – With low poly modeling there are some key features that I had to not include because of the small size and difficulty in adding them to a character.

Facial Features – I decided to not go with facial features because of animation time and it doesn't really fit with the style I'm going for, I hope to achieve character through the voice of the actors who play the character and through the movements I will create.