Returning to Magic question

CMK2020CMK2020 Member
edited October 2015 in Collectible Cards
The preface I used to play Magic almost 16yrs ago, but have played a bit of the app versions here and there throughout their incarnations. Between Spellslingers and the fact that a dedicated game store recently opened near me I've been looking at getting back into Magic. But over the years I lost track of the cards I previously owned. So in order to get back into it I'll need to start my collection back up from scratch. So what I'm wondering is what would be the best way to start? The two options I was considering were picking up one of the pre-built decks. Or to pick up 1 (or maybe 2) of the big batch of cards that CoolStuffInc sells and building a deck from those. Or is there a different option/method you guys would recommend?

Comments

• I am by no means a Magic expert (or player), but I hear that the Event decks are possibly a good place to start.

But I guess your best bet would be to ask the people working at your FLGS - hopefully they are into Magic (it is the game that keeps most game stores in business!) so they could probably offer some advice on where to get re-started.
    New to the Forum? Check out our Forum Guidelines | Introduce yourself here! | Join the G&S Community Online Game Night!

You know, I thought about curing Cancer, but there would still be eleven other horoscopes to plague us, so why even bother? - Farlander
  • Hi @CMK2020,

If it's just casual play that you want to get back into then a large collection from CoolStuffInc is a very good way to start a collection back up again. You'll have more variety to build the decks suited to your play style.