Tabletop Games for My Nine Year Old

DocHarleyDocHarley Member
edited January 2014 in Geek & Sundry Discussion
My daughter and I play a ton of games, both digital and analog, and are looking to further fill the shelf in the closet with a bunch of tabletop games. To that end, I'm looking to you, oh G&S community, to give me some much-needed help.

We've been having a lot of fun playing Forbidden Island and Catan: Junior--and will be adding Settlers of Catan to our shelf very, very soon--but she's definitely ready for some more advanced games. I've already got her playing D&D 3.5 in a solo campaign I'm running for her, and she's picked up the rules faster than I did.

Of course, back when I started playing I had to deal with THAC0 but whatever. (Mumbles something about kids getting off his lawn.)

Anyway, right now I'm looking at the Pathfinder Adventure Card Game and either the MageKnight Board Game or Descent as our next two purchases. Any thoughts on these?

Or any other suggestions for two-player games which would be suitable for a frighteningly-intelligent, nine-year-old girl?
Angry, lunatic writer and geek.
Blog | YouTube

Comments

• TriencoTrienco Member, Moderator
    The Pathfinder card game is definitely worth a look, especially if you're looking for something to stick with and (very) slowly advance your deck and character. The only complaint might be that the game can be a bit same-y, because even with different locations and their special rules, you are doing pretty much the same every time (though I'm still hoping this will change with upcoming adventure decks).