Google+ Commenting

SiderealSidereal Member
edited November 2013 in Geek & Sundry Discussion
I've been such a huge fan of G&S, and was so excited about the vloggers added to the channel when it first happened! I've been a faithful fan of Nika, in particular, as I'm a professional writer. Regrettably, financial and work issues have caused me to get swallowed up these past couple of months, and I can barely find the time to watch her bi-weekly post.

Now that I've gotten a little breathing room, I've come back...only to find that my basic YouTube account - the "trolling" account, as seems to be the sentiment of Google - is now a useless doorstop. My old comments are locked out, and I can no longer post new comments without using my actual name in that context, the very thing I created an alias account to avoid. And there's no clear way to link my existing YouTube account to a new, generic Google+ identity (as G+ didn't exist when I first joined YT). Which means that, as of right now, I can no longer comment privately at all without abandoning my existing "private" channel and all the work I've put into it - comment history, favorited videos, etc.

I know, I can just create (yet another) Google+ account that I'll never use (I think I have four now, thanks to the convolutions required to start new YT channels...and I genuinely tried to use the first one...but no one I knew was even on the darn thing!  O.O) and simply put no personal information on it. But that makes me feel like I'm doing something underhanded and subversive, and it's a hell of a lot of extra work just to be able to comment on a video without people being able to track me down over it. And it's not like getting around this step solves the problem...this is only one in a series of overreaches that Google has committed against YouTubers of late, with no sign that it's ever going to end until they get their way, our complete submission, and every marketing penny they can squeeze out of us.